Bank rate card
What does Bank of Maharashtra charge an exporter?
This is Bank of Maharashtra's published trade and forex rate card, reproduced head by head from the bank's own schedule dated w.e.f 01.02.2026 (Updated as on 09.03.2026) - per landing page link; not printed in PDF. 23 charge heads are published and 0 are not. The source document is linked at the foot of this page.
By Aaryan Kakani · · 3 min read
What does Bank of Maharashtra charge on an export transaction?
Every head below is reproduced from the schedule linked at the foot of this page. Amounts are as published; nothing has been converted, averaged or inferred, and charges are exclusive of 18% GST unless the schedule says otherwise.
| Charge head | What Bank of Maharashtra publishes |
|---|---|
| Inward remittance / export proceeds | Trade remittance via SWIFT MT103/202 Rs 250 flat per remittance; non-trade: up to USD 500 Nil, above Rs 100; return of remittance (USD 100 and above) USD 50 |
| FIRC, FIRA and e-BRC | BRC/e-BRC Nil; FIRC/encashment certificate Rs 250 (security paper) / Rs 200 (letterhead); duplicate FIRC Rs 1,500 |
| Export bill regularisation (direct dispatch or advance received) | Bills with advance received: Rs 250 (up to USD 5,000) / Rs 500 (up to USD 10,000) / Rs 750 (up to USD 20,000) / Rs 1,250 (above) + Rs 100 per extra SB; docs sent directly by exporter: collection slab above; e-commerce bill reconciliation Rs 50 / Rs 75 / Rs 100 per bill (up to Rs 1 / 5 / 10 lakh) |
| Export bills on collection | Up to USD 5,000 Rs 250; USD 5,000-10,000 Rs 500; USD 10,000-20,000 Rs 750; above USD 20,000 0.0625% (max Rs 2,000); + Rs 100 per extra SB |
| Export bill purchase, discount or negotiation | Rupee post-shipment N/P/D: Rs 750 (up to USD 10,000) / Rs 1,100 (above); FC discounting (EBD): USD 25 (up to USD 5 lakh) / USD 50 (above); + 0.10% CILE if proceeds sent to other bank |
| Extension of realisation period | Rs 1,000 per bill per extension (Bank/RBI) |
| Write-off or reduction in value | Self write-off Rs 1,000 per bill; AD-approved Rs 1,500; RBI-approved Rs 4,000 |
| Crystallisation | Not stated |
| Return of an unpaid export bill | Not stated |
| Export LC advising | Own client Rs 1,000; non-customers Rs 2,000 (incl. Courier); amendment Rs 500 / Rs 750; second advising Rs 1,000 |
| Export LC confirmation | As applicable to opening of import LC (commitment + usance); only with TIBD approval |
| Overdue bill follow-up | Overdue purchased/discounted bills (>30 days past due) Rs 500 per bill per quarter (max Rs 2,000); overdue collection bills Rs 1,000 per quarter; late submission of docs (>21 days): bills above Rs 10 lakh Rs 100 per SB per month (up to Rs 10 lakh nil) |
| SWIFT | MT103 (non-individual) Rs 500; MT202 Rs 500; MT700 Rs 1,000; MT707 Rs 500; MT760 Rs 1,000; MT767 Rs 500; tracers Rs 500; other authenticated Rs 250 |
| Courier | Actual out-of-pocket; return of import documents USD 50 |
What does Bank of Maharashtra charge on imports, guarantees and other forex services?
| Charge head | What Bank of Maharashtra publishes |
|---|---|
| Advance or direct import remittance | 0.125% (min Rs 500, max Rs 25,000) with exchange margin; 0.15% (min Rs 750, max Rs 25,000) via EEFC/no margin |
| Import bills on collection | 0.125% (min Rs 500, max Rs 25,000) with exchange margin; 0.15% (min Rs 750, max Rs 25,000) without; same for docs received directly; under LC 0.125% / 0.15% (same min/max) |
| Import LC issuance | Unified 0.125% per month (min Rs 1,000) incl. Commitment and usance; high-value discounts 80% (USD 0.5-1 mn), 60% (USD 1-5 mn), 50% (above USD 5 mn) of normal; + SWIFT MT700 Rs 1,000 |
| IDPMS / Bill of Entry | BOE up to Rs 10 lakh Nil; advance remittance: Rs 1,000 per BOE if not submitted within 180 days; import bill: Rs 1,000 per BOE if not within 90 days |
| Bank guarantee | Export-related and other guarantees 0.20% per month (min Rs 500); counter guarantee 0.10% per month (min Rs 500); SBLC for buyer's credit 1.50% p.a. (min Rs 2,000); + SWIFT MT760 Rs 1,000 |
| Other outward remittance | MT103 commercial 0.10% (min Rs 250, max Rs 10,000) + out-of-pocket; non-trade 0.10% (min Rs 100, max Rs 1,000); SWIFT MT103 non-individual Rs 500 |
| Forward contracts | Booking Rs 500; cancellation Rs 500 + swap; early delivery Rs 600 + swap; extension/rollover Rs 800 + swap |
| Commission in lieu of exchange | 0.10% (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 30,000) where bank earns no exchange margin |
| Certificates, NOC and AD code letter | Attestation Rs 300 per invoice; other export certificates (GR waiver etc.) Rs 500; request to RBI: approval Rs 2,000 / ratification Rs 4,000 |
How does Bank of Maharashtra compare with the other banks?
Ordering is arithmetic on published figures across the 36 banks whose schedules could be re-checked against their source file, using the entry-tier charge a small-ticket exporter actually meets. It is not a view on which bank to use.
| Charge | Bank of Maharashtra | Where that sits |
|---|---|---|
| Export bill regularisation, per shipping bill | ₹250 | 5th cheapest of 29 banks that publish it |
| e-BRC or BRC | Free | 2nd cheapest of 23 banks that publish it |
| FIRC or FIRA issuance | ₹250 | 14th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it |
| Inward remittance, per credit | ₹250 | 14th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it |
| Export bills on collection, entry tier | ₹250 | 4th cheapest of 35 banks that publish it |
| SWIFT, per message | ₹500 | 7th cheapest of 36 banks that publish it |
On published figures Bank of Maharashtra sits in the cheapest five on export bill regularisation, per shipping bill (5th of 29), e-brc or brc (2nd of 23), export bills on collection, entry tier (4th of 35). An exporter filing 20 shipping bills a month, pulling an e-BRC for each and taking 20 payment credits, would pay ₹1,20,000 a year on these published heads alone. A merchant exporter lodging 10 collection bills a month with 10 certificates and 10 credits would pay ₹60,000. See all 38 banks side by side.
What else does Bank of Maharashtra's schedule say?
GST extra. Forex section is pages 95-113 of the 127-page schedule (pages 26-44 are the Annexure I table of changes). Landing page https://bankofmaharashtra.bank.in/service-charges. Deemed export bills 0.15% (min Rs 600, max Rs 40,000); FC export bills paid in INR 0.13% (min Rs 550, max Rs 10,000) + 0.10% CILE.
Where does this rate card come from?
| Provenance | Detail |
|---|---|
| Schedule date, as the bank prints it | w.e.f 01.02.2026 (Updated as on 09.03.2026) - per landing page link; not printed in PDF |
| Bank type | Public sector |
| Checked | 19 September 2026 |
| Source document | Open Bank of Maharashtra's published schedule |
The source document was re-downloaded from Bank of Maharashtra on 19 September 2026 and compared by SHA-256 against the copy these figures were read from. It matched exactly, which means the figures here are what the bank was publishing that day rather than a stale cache.
What should I read next?
- Every Indian bank's export charges, compared All 38 rate cards in one table.
- Which bank is best for e-commerce exporters? The same schedules read head by head for marketplace sellers.
- Which bank is best for B2B exporters? LC advising, collection, crystallisation and guarantees.
- FIRC and BRC guide for Indian exporters What each certificate is and when you need one.
Tired of chasing Bank of Maharashtra to close your shipping bills?
Bank charges are the visible cost of export banking. The hidden one is the hours spent matching settlements to shipping bills and chasing the bank to close them in EDPMS. Seasaw does that matching for you.
See how Seasaw works
Update history
- First published.