Bank rate card
What does Citibank India charge an exporter?
This is Citibank India's published trade and forex rate card, reproduced head by head from the bank's own schedule dated Not printed (PDF dated 17 Sep 2026). 23 charge heads are published and 0 are not. The source document is linked at the foot of this page.
By Aaryan Kakani · · 3 min read
What does Citibank India charge on an export transaction?
Every head below is reproduced from the schedule linked at the foot of this page. Amounts are as published; nothing has been converted, averaged or inferred, and charges are exclusive of 18% GST unless the schedule says otherwise.
| Charge head | What Citibank India publishes |
|---|---|
| Inward remittance / export proceeds | No charges |
| FIRC, FIRA and e-BRC | Fresh FIRC Rs 800; duplicate FIRC Rs 1,950; BRC issuance Rs 500 flat per bill; eFIRA to exporter (PA-CB) Rs 800 |
| Export bill regularisation (direct dispatch or advance received) | Softex and advance payment bills Rs 2,500 flat per Softex; EDPMS (STP digital) / IRM purpose code change Rs 500 per bill; physical branch request (no dispatch) Rs 2,000 per bill |
| Export bills on collection | 0.0625% flat commission per bill, min Rs 1,000 (under LC min Rs 1,500) + overseas courier Rs 750 + handling Rs 750 per document + cable Rs 1,500 |
| Export bill purchase, discount or negotiation | Not separately listed; scrutiny of documents under confirmed/unconfirmed LCs 0.15%, min Rs 2,000 |
| Extension of realisation period | Rs 500 flat per bill |
| Write-off or reduction in value | Rs 500 flat per bill (invoice reduction / write-off / change of buyer) |
| Crystallisation | Not stated |
| Return of an unpaid export bill | Not stated |
| Export LC advising | Rs 2,500 flat for clients / Rs 5,000 for non-clients (same for amendments) + courier Rs 750 + cable Rs 1,500; transfer min Rs 2,500 |
| Export LC confirmation | Governed by Code 1 & cross-border costs, min USD 500 (till end of usance period) |
| Overdue bill follow-up | FBC follow-up: first free, subsequent (at customer request) Rs 750 flat (cable); reminder service fee Rs 250 per outstanding item |
| SWIFT | Cable Rs 1,500 (export communication/cable; export LC; import LC issuance; import collections / advance remittance payment per bill; outward remittances); Rs 750 (import LC amendment/payment/retirement advices; FBC follow-up) |
| Courier | Overseas Rs 750 per document |
What does Citibank India charge on imports, guarantees and other forex services?
| Charge head | What Citibank India publishes |
|---|---|
| Advance or direct import remittance | 0.125% flat per bill, min Rs 1,250 + cable (communication/cable for payment Rs 1,500 per bill) |
| Import bills on collection | 0.25% flat per bill + cable, min Rs 2,000; direct collections 0.125% + cable, min Rs 1,250; communication/cable Rs 1,500 per bill |
| Import LC issuance | Commitment 0.15% per quarter; usance: sight (up to 10 days) 0.15% flat, min Rs 2,000; 10-90 days 0.30% flat; over 90 days 0.30% for first 3 months + 0.1% per additional month; cable Rs 1,500 |
| IDPMS / Bill of Entry | IDPMS (SI one-click) Rs 100 per bill; BOE closure (e.g. FOC, RTGS) / extension of time & write-off Rs 500 flat per bill |
| Bank guarantee | Not stated |
| Other outward remittance | 0.45% of INR equivalent, min Rs 750, max Rs 9,000 + Rs 1,500 cable + GST |
| Forward contracts | Not stated |
| Commission in lieu of exchange | Not stated |
| Certificates, NOC and AD code letter | NOC / certificates Rs 500 flat per bill; GR waivers/approvals Rs 1,500 per bill; RBI representation Rs 25,000 per submission |
How does Citibank India compare with the other banks?
Ordering is arithmetic on published figures across the 36 banks whose schedules could be re-checked against their source file, using the entry-tier charge a small-ticket exporter actually meets. It is not a view on which bank to use.
| Charge | Citibank India | Where that sits |
|---|---|---|
| Export bill regularisation, per shipping bill | ₹2,500 | 29th cheapest of 29 banks that publish it |
| e-BRC or BRC | ₹500 | 23rd cheapest of 23 banks that publish it |
| FIRC or FIRA issuance | ₹800 | 30th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it |
| Inward remittance, per credit | Not published | Left out of the ordering rather than scored as free |
| Export bills on collection, entry tier | ₹1,000 | 15th cheapest of 35 banks that publish it |
| SWIFT, per message | ₹1,500 | 32nd cheapest of 36 banks that publish it |
Citibank India does not sit in the cheapest five on any of the six heads measured here. It sits in the dearest five on export bill regularisation, per shipping bill (29th of 29), e-brc or brc (23rd of 23), firc or fira issuance (30th of 30), swift, per message (32nd of 36). A full annual figure cannot be built for this bank, because at least one of those heads is unpublished. See all 38 banks side by side.
What else does Citibank India's schedule say?
Citi's institutional business only (consumer business moved to Axis). Grid applies to BCMA and CCB (Commercial) clients; 'Level 1' standard charges, higher pricing needs no approval. GST 18% extra. Listed under 'TTS Pricing Grid' on https://www.citigroup.com/global/about-us/global-presence/india (Key Policies); citigroup.com link redirects to citigroup.citi.bank.in. Also: merchant trade Rs 2,250 per transaction; agency commission 0.125%, min Rs 1,000; RBI application for bespoke transactions USD 300; delivery order Rs 2,000. No guarantee or forward contract charges published.
Where does this rate card come from?
| Provenance | Detail |
|---|---|
| Schedule date, as the bank prints it | Not printed (PDF dated 17 Sep 2026) |
| Bank type | Foreign |
| Checked | 19 September 2026 |
| Source document | Open Citibank India's published schedule |
The source document was re-downloaded from Citibank India on 19 September 2026 and compared by SHA-256 against the copy these figures were read from. It matched exactly, which means the figures here are what the bank was publishing that day rather than a stale cache.
What should I read next?
- Every Indian bank's export charges, compared All 38 rate cards in one table.
- Which bank is best for e-commerce exporters? The same schedules read head by head for marketplace sellers.
- Which bank is best for B2B exporters? LC advising, collection, crystallisation and guarantees.
- FIRC and BRC guide for Indian exporters What each certificate is and when you need one.
Tired of chasing Citibank India to close your shipping bills?
Bank charges are the visible cost of export banking. The hidden one is the hours spent matching settlements to shipping bills and chasing the bank to close them in EDPMS. Seasaw does that matching for you.
See how Seasaw works
Update history
- First published.