Bank rate card
What does City Union Bank charge an exporter?
This is City Union Bank's published trade and forex rate card, reproduced head by head from the bank's own schedule dated wef April 1st 2026 (page 'Last Updated on: 04-05-2026'). 23 charge heads are published and 0 are not. The source document is linked at the foot of this page.
By Aaryan Kakani · · 3 min read
What does City Union Bank charge on an export transaction?
Every head below is reproduced from the schedule linked at the foot of this page. Amounts are as published; nothing has been converted, averaged or inferred, and charges are exclusive of 18% GST unless the schedule says otherwise.
| Charge head | What City Union Bank publishes |
|---|---|
| Inward remittance / export proceeds | Advance remittance for exports 0.15%, min Rs 1,000, max Rs 10,000; other inward remittances (non-individuals): up to Rs 5 lakh Rs 500, Rs 5-10 lakh Rs 1,000, above Rs 10 lakh Rs 1,500 (individuals nil) |
| FIRC, FIRA and e-BRC | eFIRC Rs 200; foreign inward remittance advice/certificate Rs 100; duplicate advices/FIRC/BRC Rs 100 |
| Export bill regularisation (direct dispatch or advance received) | Bills against advance already received: nil if advance came through CUB, via other bank Rs 1,000 (<1 year) / Rs 2,500 (>1 year); direct-dispatch bills 0.15%, min Rs 1,000, max Rs 10,000; INR-realised (RTGS/NEFT/IMPS) 0.15%, min Rs 1,000, max Rs 10,000; EDPMS closure up to INR 10 lakh on declaration Rs 250 |
| Export bills on collection | 0.15%, min Rs 1,000, max Rs 10,000 (collection bills and bills sent directly by exporter) |
| Export bill purchase, discount or negotiation | 0.15%, min Rs 1,000, max Rs 10,000 + interest as per sanction |
| Extension of realisation period | Rs 1,000 per extension per bill |
| Write-off or reduction in value | Write-off approval Rs 1,000 per request |
| Crystallisation | 0.15%, min Rs 1,000, max Rs 10,000 (FC export bill) |
| Return of an unpaid export bill | Rs 1,000 per bill + other bank charges |
| Export LC advising | Customers Rs 1,500 (amendment Rs 750); non-customers Rs 2,000 (amendment Rs 1,000); transfer Rs 2,000 |
| Export LC confirmation | Not stated |
| Overdue bill follow-up | Not stated |
| SWIFT | Outward remittance Rs 1,000; import advance Rs 1,000; LC issue Rs 2,000 (Rs 2,500 per adjacent cell); LC amendment Rs 1,000; BG/LOU Rs 2,500; query via SWIFT Rs 500 per message |
| Courier | Not stated |
What does City Union Bank charge on imports, guarantees and other forex services?
| Charge head | What City Union Bank publishes |
|---|---|
| Advance or direct import remittance | Rs 1,200 flat + SWIFT Rs 1,000 (import advance / direct remittance) |
| Import bills on collection | 0.35%, min Rs 1,500, max Rs 15,000 (non-LC); import bills under LC: no charges |
| Import LC issuance | Sight 0.65% (validity up to 3 months) / 0.85% (3-6 months); usance up to 3 months 0.80% / 1.00%; usance 3-6 months 1.10% / 1.30%; +0.20% per extra 3-month block beyond 6 months; SWIFT Rs 2,000 (adjacent cell: min Rs 5,000, SWIFT Rs 2,500, 50% for 100% margin) |
| IDPMS / Bill of Entry | Closure of IDPMS entries up to INR 10 lakh on declaration (special procedure) Rs 250 per declaration |
| Bank guarantee | Foreign BG/SBLC 3% p.a., min Rs 5,000 (100% margin 1% p.a., min Rs 5,000) + SWIFT Rs 2,500 + correspondent commission |
| Other outward remittance | Non-individuals 0.30%, min Rs 750, max Rs 25,000 + SWIFT Rs 1,000 (individuals max Rs 10,000) |
| Forward contracts | Booking Rs 750; cancellation Rs 500 |
| Commission in lieu of exchange | Not stated |
| Certificates, NOC and AD code letter | Certificate/attestation of any other document (incl. Invoices) Rs 750 per document; GR waiver certificate Rs 500 |
How does City Union Bank compare with the other banks?
Ordering is arithmetic on published figures across the 36 banks whose schedules could be re-checked against their source file, using the entry-tier charge a small-ticket exporter actually meets. It is not a view on which bank to use.
| Charge | City Union Bank | Where that sits |
|---|---|---|
| Export bill regularisation, per shipping bill | Not published | Left out of the ordering rather than scored as free |
| e-BRC or BRC | Not published | Left out of the ordering rather than scored as free |
| FIRC or FIRA issuance | ₹200 | 11th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it |
| Inward remittance, per credit | ₹1,000 | 30th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it |
| Export bills on collection, entry tier | ₹1,000 | 16th cheapest of 35 banks that publish it |
| SWIFT, per message | ₹1,000 | 24th cheapest of 36 banks that publish it |
City Union Bank does not sit in the cheapest five on any of the six heads measured here. It sits in the dearest five on inward remittance, per credit (30th of 30). A full annual figure cannot be built for this bank, because at least one of those heads is unpublished. See all 38 banks side by side.
What else does City Union Bank's schedule say?
No separate forex PDF; forex charges are a collapsed accordion section of the general HTML service-charges page. Official HTML page rendered to PDF with collapsed sections expanded (forex section under 'Forex Transactions'). GST extra on all charges. Import LC table is ambiguous: grid shows 'Swift Charges 2000' while an adjacent cell reads 'Same Charges Minimum Rs 5,000, Swift Rs 2,500 (for 100% margin deposit, 50% of the charges)'. Custody for overdue import collection bills Rs 500 per quarter per bill; LC amendment Rs 1,000 + SWIFT Rs 1,000; discrepancy fee USD 75; merchanting 0.30% (min Rs 2,000, max Rs 25,000); ODI outward 0.30% (min Rs 5,000, max Rs 50,000); FDI inward 0.30% (min Rs 5,000, max Rs 50,000); UIN creation Rs 15,000.
Where does this rate card come from?
| Provenance | Detail |
|---|---|
| Schedule date, as the bank prints it | wef April 1st 2026 (page 'Last Updated on: 04-05-2026') |
| Bank type | Private |
| Checked | 19 September 2026 |
| Source document | Open City Union Bank's published schedule |
The source document was re-downloaded from City Union Bank on 19 September 2026 and compared by SHA-256 against the copy these figures were read from. It matched exactly, which means the figures here are what the bank was publishing that day rather than a stale cache.
What should I read next?
- Every Indian bank's export charges, compared All 38 rate cards in one table.
- Which bank is best for e-commerce exporters? The same schedules read head by head for marketplace sellers.
- Which bank is best for B2B exporters? LC advising, collection, crystallisation and guarantees.
- FIRC and BRC guide for Indian exporters What each certificate is and when you need one.
Tired of chasing City Union Bank to close your shipping bills?
Bank charges are the visible cost of export banking. The hidden one is the hours spent matching settlements to shipping bills and chasing the bank to close them in EDPMS. Seasaw does that matching for you.
See how Seasaw works
Update history
- First published.