Bank rate card

What does Karnataka Bank charge an exporter?

This is Karnataka Bank's published trade and forex rate card, reproduced head by head from the bank's own schedule dated Not printed (uploaded 2025-05; PDF created 28 May 2025). 23 charge heads are published and 0 are not. The source document is linked at the foot of this page.

By Aaryan Kakani · · 3 min read

What does Karnataka Bank charge on an export transaction?

Every head below is reproduced from the schedule linked at the foot of this page. Amounts are as published; nothing has been converted, averaged or inferred, and charges are exclusive of 18% GST unless the schedule says otherwise.

Charge headWhat Karnataka Bank publishes
Inward remittance / export proceedsRs 100 per clean inward payment in Rupees where cover received (incl. Advance payment towards exports)
FIRC, FIRA and e-BRCCertificates Rs 100 per certificate/attestation; e-BRC free
Export bill regularisation (direct dispatch or advance received)0.0625%, min Rs 250, max Rs 5,000 (bills where advance payment received, and documents sent directly by exporter, collected when GR forms are disposed)
Export bills on collection0.0625%, min Rs 250, max Rs 5,000 (FC and rupee bills)
Export bill purchase, discount or negotiationLC bills 0.10%, min Rs 500, max Rs 2,000; non-LC bills 0.25%, min Rs 250, max Rs 2,000
Extension of realisation periodRs 500 per extension per bill
Write-off or reduction in valueWrite-off Rs 500 per bill
CrystallisationRs 500 per bill (FC export bill)
Return of an unpaid export billRs 2,000 per bill
Export LC advisingRs 500 per LC; amendment Rs 250; passing on LC advised by another bank Rs 250; transfer Rs 500 (amendment Rs 250)
Export LC confirmationCommitment 0.15% per quarter (min Rs 250) + usance 0.25% up to 3 months (min Rs 250), beyond 3 months 0.25% for first 3 months + 0.15% p.m. (min Rs 500); needs Head Office approval
Overdue bill follow-upXOS charges on overdue export bills Rs 250 per bill per quarter; delayed submission beyond 21 days from shipment Rs 250
SWIFTImport bills Rs 1,500; outward remittances Rs 500; FC DD Rs 500
CourierExtra; amount not stated (collected when export bill is lodged)

What does Karnataka Bank charge on imports, guarantees and other forex services?

Charge headWhat Karnataka Bank publishes
Advance or direct import remittance0.25%, min Rs 250, max Rs 1,000 per advance remittance (SWIFT extra)
Import bills on collectionNon-LC (FC/rupee, incl. Direct bills) 0.25%, min Rs 250, max Rs 1,000 + SWIFT Rs 1,500
Import LC issuanceCommitment 0.15% per quarter (min Rs 250) + usance 0.20% up to 3 months (min Rs 250), beyond 3 months 0.20% first 3 months + 0.075% p.m. (min Rs 500); 100% cash margin 25% of normal, min Rs 500
IDPMS / Bill of EntryNot stated
Bank guaranteeExport performance/bid bonds (non-project) 0.085% p.m. (0.25% if under 3 months); DPG 0.50% per quarter; all other 0.15% p.m. (0.25% if under 2 months); min Rs 500
Other outward remittance0.10%, min Rs 250, max Rs 1,500 + SWIFT Rs 500
Forward contractsBooking Rs 500
Commission in lieu of exchange0.125%, max Rs 5,000 (not on EEFC debits/credits or deemed exports)
Certificates, NOC and AD code letterRs 100 per certificate/attestation (e-BRC free)

How does Karnataka Bank compare with the other banks?

Ordering is arithmetic on published figures across the 36 banks whose schedules could be re-checked against their source file, using the entry-tier charge a small-ticket exporter actually meets. It is not a view on which bank to use.

ChargeKarnataka BankWhere that sits
Export bill regularisation, per shipping bill₹2508th cheapest of 29 banks that publish it
e-BRC or BRCFree7th cheapest of 23 banks that publish it
FIRC or FIRA issuance₹1009th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it
Inward remittance, per credit₹1009th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it
Export bills on collection, entry tier₹2506th cheapest of 35 banks that publish it
SWIFT, per message₹1,50033rd cheapest of 36 banks that publish it

Karnataka Bank does not sit in the cheapest five on any of the six heads measured here. It sits in the dearest five on swift, per message (33rd of 36). An exporter filing 20 shipping bills a month, pulling an e-BRC for each and taking 20 payment credits, would pay ₹84,000 a year on these published heads alone. A merchant exporter lodging 10 collection bills a month with 10 certificates and 10 credits would pay ₹42,000. See all 38 banks side by side.

What else does Karnataka Bank's schedule say?

Linked as 'Forex Related Service Charges' on the official page https://www.karnatakabank.bank.in/rates-and-charges; the file sits on the bank's CloudFront CDN (the same path on karnatakabank.bank.in returns 403). No effective date printed. Charges exclude GST, SWIFT, nostro, postage/courier and correspondent charges. Gold Card holders get 50% off the % rate and the maximum (not the minimum). Import LC bill retirement FC 0.15% (min Rs 500, max Rs 1,000); import crystallisation 0.15% (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 5,000); discrepancy USD 100. Export/import credit processing 0.25% of limits, max Rs 5 lakh. FDI/ODI reporting Rs 2,000 per instance.

Where does this rate card come from?

ProvenanceDetail
Schedule date, as the bank prints itNot printed (uploaded 2025-05; PDF created 28 May 2025)
Bank typePrivate
Checked19 September 2026
Source documentOpen Karnataka Bank's published schedule

The source document was re-downloaded from Karnataka Bank on 19 September 2026 and compared by SHA-256 against the copy these figures were read from. It matched exactly, which means the figures here are what the bank was publishing that day rather than a stale cache.

Tired of chasing Karnataka Bank to close your shipping bills?

Bank charges are the visible cost of export banking. The hidden one is the hours spent matching settlements to shipping bills and chasing the bank to close them in EDPMS. Seasaw does that matching for you.

See how Seasaw works

Update history

  • First published.