Bank rate card

What does Karur Vysya Bank charge an exporter?

This is Karur Vysya Bank's published trade and forex rate card, reproduced head by head from the bank's own schedule dated Not printed (PDF created 4 Jul 2026; server Last-Modified 04 Jul 2026). 23 charge heads are published and 0 are not. The source document is linked at the foot of this page.

By Aaryan Kakani · · 3 min read

What does Karur Vysya Bank charge on an export transaction?

Every head below is reproduced from the schedule linked at the foot of this page. Amounts are as published; nothing has been converted, averaged or inferred, and charges are exclusive of 18% GST unless the schedule says otherwise.

Charge headWhat Karur Vysya Bank publishes
Inward remittance / export proceedsClean inward remittance Rs 200 up to USD 2,000; Rs 500 above USD 2,000 (nil for NRE/NRO); additionally IRM (EBRC) charge Rs 250 for exports of goods; + 0.125% where no forex earned (except FCNR/NRE/RFC credit)
FIRC, FIRA and e-BRCIRM (EBRC) charge Rs 250 per inward remittance for exports of goods (on 100% advance bills: Rs 250 per SB for remittances up to Jan 2024, Rs 250 per remittance Feb-Jul 2024, nil after Jul 2024 as already recovered at credit); certificate for inward remittance Rs 250
Export bill regularisation (direct dispatch or advance received)Bills against 100% advance received (MBIL) / free-of-payment bills: Rs 1,500 per bill (up to 3 SBs; Rs 200 per extra SB) + courier min Rs 1,250 or actuals if sent; EBRC as applicable (nil for remittances after Jul 2024); INR receipts via RTGS/NEFT additional 0.125%; realisation from other banks 0.125%, min Rs 1,000, max Rs 25,000
Export bills on collectionRs 1,250 per bill irrespective of amount (up to 3 GR/SB/Softex; Rs 200 per extra) + courier min Rs 1,250 or actuals; Bill of Lading verification Rs 1,000 where applicable
Export bill purchase, discount or negotiationRs 1,500 per bill irrespective of value (up to 3 GR/SB/Softex; Rs 200 per extra) + courier min Rs 1,250 or actuals; conversion of collection bill to P/D/N Rs 1,500
Extension of realisation periodRs 500 per bill per extension
Write-off or reduction in valueWrite-off Rs 1,000 per bill / per shipping bill; write-off or closure needing RBI permission Rs 1,000 per request
CrystallisationNot stated
Return of an unpaid export billRs 2,000 per bill + foreign bank charges at actuals
Export LC advisingRs 1,250; amendment Rs 750; transfer Rs 1,000
Export LC confirmationNot stated
Overdue bill follow-upRs 100 per quarter per item: SB not realised within 9 months, inward remittance outstanding beyond 1 year, BoE unpaid beyond 12 months, ORM beyond 6 months (items dated on/after 01/09/2023)
SWIFTLC/BG issuance or amendment Rs 1,000; FOTT Rs 1,000; payments Rs 750; tracers Rs 750; import bill acceptance/discrepancy Rs 500; KYC confirmation for capital-account inward Rs 1,000; others Rs 500
CourierRs 1,250 per item (minimum) or actuals, whichever higher; postage Rs 100 minimum

What does Karur Vysya Bank charge on imports, guarantees and other forex services?

Charge headWhat Karur Vysya Bank publishes
Advance or direct import remittance0.15%, min Rs 1,500, max Rs 25,000 + SWIFT Rs 750; additionally 0.125% where paid from EEFC/DDA (no forex earned); Bill of Lading verification Rs 1,000 where applicable
Import bills on collection0.15%, min Rs 1,500, max Rs 20,000 + SWIFT Rs 750; import bill received directly by importer 0.15%, min Rs 1,500, max Rs 25,000 + SWIFT Rs 750; Bill of Lading verification Rs 1,000 where applicable
Import LC issuanceSight: 0.40% (expiry within 3 months) + 0.10% per month beyond; usance: 2% p.a. (min 3 months); min Rs 2,500 + SWIFT Rs 1,000; 100% cash margin 40% of normal (min Rs 2,000)
IDPMS / Bill of EntryNot stated
Bank guaranteeExport performance / DPG 0.15% p.m.; all other guarantees 0.10% p.m.; min Rs 1,000 + SWIFT Rs 1,000; 100% margin 50% of normal (min Rs 750); shipping guarantee Rs 1,000
Other outward remittance0.10% up to USD 10,000 (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 10,000); 0.15% above USD 10,000 (min Rs 1,500, max Rs 15,000) + SWIFT Rs 1,000; OUR charges USD 25 / EUR 30
Forward contractsBooking Rs 1,250; cancellation Rs 1,250 + swap cost; extension/roll-over Rs 1,250 (cancellation Rs 625 where unutilised portion <= USD 500)
Commission in lieu of exchange0.125% irrespective of amount (not charged on credit to EEFC)
Certificates, NOC and AD code letterBank certificates & attestations Rs 250; GR/SB waiver Rs 1,000 per GR/SB; forwarding ETX to RBI Rs 1,000

How does Karur Vysya Bank compare with the other banks?

Ordering is arithmetic on published figures across the 36 banks whose schedules could be re-checked against their source file, using the entry-tier charge a small-ticket exporter actually meets. It is not a view on which bank to use.

ChargeKarur Vysya BankWhere that sits
Export bill regularisation, per shipping bill₹1,50024th cheapest of 29 banks that publish it
e-BRC or BRC₹25020th cheapest of 23 banks that publish it
FIRC or FIRA issuanceNot publishedLeft out of the ordering rather than scored as free
Inward remittance, per credit₹20013th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it
Export bills on collection, entry tier₹1,25024th cheapest of 35 banks that publish it
SWIFT, per message₹1,00028th cheapest of 36 banks that publish it

Karur Vysya Bank does not sit in the cheapest five on any of the six heads measured here. It sits in the dearest five on e-brc or brc (20th of 23). An exporter filing 20 shipping bills a month, pulling an e-BRC for each and taking 20 payment credits, would pay ₹4,68,000 a year on these published heads alone. A merchant exporter lodging 10 collection bills a month with 10 certificates and 10 credits would pay ₹2,04,000. See all 38 banks side by side.

What else does Karur Vysya Bank's schedule say?

All figures in Rupees plus applicable GST. The 'Forex Charges' PDF (Service charges on Forex transactions W.E.F 28.07.2023) is still the schedule linked from https://www.kvb.bank.in/service-charges-fees/ (page says general charges effective from 09.03.2026; last updated 18 Sept 2026). The Forex Services page (https://www.kvb.bank.in/customer-service/forex-services/) now also links three customer-service sheets (created 4 Jul 2026) giving process, timelines and charges; their amounts match the 2023 schedule but add items it lacks: IRM (EBRC) Rs 250 per inward remittance for goods exports, Bill of Lading verification Rs 1,000, SWIFT KYC confirmation Rs 1,000, INR export receipts via RTGS/NEFT 0.125%, and an explicit import advance remittance charge (0.15%, min Rs 1,500, max Rs 25,000 + SWIFT Rs 750). Fields inward_remittance, firc_ebrc, export_bill_collection, export_bill_regularisation, export_bill_purchase_discount, import_advance_remittance, import_bill_collection and swift_charges combine both sources; all others are from the 2023 schedule. Overdue export bill commission is subsumed under EDPMS/IDPMS charges. Crystallisation of export bills and PCFC: NIL (process sheet). Capital account: ODI/FDI/ECB Rs 10,000 (<=USD 100k) / Rs 15,000 + SWIFT Rs 1,000. Return of inward remittance Rs 1,500 + SWIFT Rs 1,000. Import LC bill retirement 0.15% (min Rs 1,500, max Rs 20,000) + SWIFT Rs 750; discrepancy fee USD/EUR/GBP 100. SBLC for buyers/trade credit 0.10% p.m., min Rs 1,000 + SWIFT Rs 1,000.

Where does this rate card come from?

ProvenanceDetail
Schedule date, as the bank prints itNot printed (PDF created 4 Jul 2026; server Last-Modified 04 Jul 2026)
Bank typePrivate
Checked19 September 2026
Source documentOpen Karur Vysya Bank's published schedule

The source document was re-downloaded from Karur Vysya Bank on 19 September 2026 and compared by SHA-256 against the copy these figures were read from. It matched exactly, which means the figures here are what the bank was publishing that day rather than a stale cache.

Tired of chasing Karur Vysya Bank to close your shipping bills?

Bank charges are the visible cost of export banking. The hidden one is the hours spent matching settlements to shipping bills and chasing the bank to close them in EDPMS. Seasaw does that matching for you.

See how Seasaw works

Update history

  • First published.