Bank rate card
What does South Indian Bank charge an exporter?
This is South Indian Bank's published trade and forex rate card, reproduced head by head from the bank's own schedule dated Compendium 'As on 28.07.2026'; revised forex schedule w.e.f. 01-09-2026 (pp 19-24). 23 charge heads are published and 0 are not. The source document is linked at the foot of this page.
By Aaryan Kakani · · 3 min read
What does South Indian Bank charge on an export transaction?
Every head below is reproduced from the schedule linked at the foot of this page. Amounts are as published; nothing has been converted, averaged or inferred, and charges are exclusive of 18% GST unless the schedule says otherwise.
| Charge head | What South Indian Bank publishes |
|---|---|
| Inward remittance / export proceeds | Rs 150 per inward remittance (retail & trade); free for credit to EEFC/PCFC; nil for buyers' credit inward remittance |
| FIRC, FIRA and e-BRC | e-FIRC Rs 500 per certificate; FIRC (FDI) Rs 500 per certificate; e-BRC Nil |
| Export bill regularisation (direct dispatch or advance received) | Export bill against full advance remittance (M-bill) Rs 1,500; bill regularisation (direct dispatch by exporter) Rs 250 per export bill; transfer of other-bank AD shipping bills Rs 200 per SB |
| Export bills on collection | Per bill (up to 10 SBs) by INR value: up to Rs 5 lakh Rs 1,000; Rs 5-15 lakh Rs 1,500; Rs 15-50 lakh Rs 2,500; Rs 50-70 lakh Rs 3,000; above Rs 70 lakh Rs 5,000; + Rs 250 per SB beyond 10 + courier Rs 1,500 |
| Export bill purchase, discount or negotiation | Rs 1,500 per FC bill (up to 10 SBs; Rs 250 per SB beyond 10) + courier Rs 1,500; discrepant LC negotiation Rs 2,500 |
| Extension of realisation period | Rs 1,000 (extension of due date of bill) |
| Write-off or reduction in value | Export bill write-off Rs 1,500 per request |
| Crystallisation | Import bills under LC / buyers' credit (crystallisation/delinking/devolvement) 0.25%, min Rs 2,000, max Rs 15,000; export crystallisation not stated |
| Return of an unpaid export bill | Rs 1,500 per return of documents |
| Export LC advising | Customers Rs 1,500 (amendment Rs 750); non-customers Rs 2,500 (amendment Rs 1,500); transfer Rs 2,000 |
| Export LC confirmation | Not stated |
| Overdue bill follow-up | Export bill query/follow-up Rs 250 per SWIFT tracer |
| SWIFT | Outward SHA Rs 500; OUR Rs 2,000 (USD/AED/SGD/SAR/JPY/others), Rs 2,500 CAD/AUD, Rs 2,600 GBP, Rs 2,700 EUR, Rs 3,000 CNY, Rs 3,600 CHF; LC/BG Rs 1,000; import bills Rs 500; export tracer Rs 250 |
| Courier | Rs 1,500 (export bills) |
What does South Indian Bank charge on imports, guarantees and other forex services?
| Charge head | What South Indian Bank publishes |
|---|---|
| Advance or direct import remittance | Rs 1,000 + SWIFT (SHA Rs 500; OUR Rs 2,000-3,600 by currency); SBLC waiver Rs 1,000 |
| Import bills on collection | Rs 1,000 per bill + SWIFT Rs 500 + handling USD 25 deducted from bill; direct import bill Rs 1,000 + SWIFT (SHA Rs 500 / OUR Rs 2,000-3,600) |
| Import LC issuance | Rating-based 1.50% (SIB AAA) to 2.75% (SIB BB & below) for LC validity + usance period; 110% cash margin 0.10%; + SWIFT Rs 1,000 |
| IDPMS / Bill of Entry | Not stated |
| Bank guarantee | Rating-based: performance 1.75%-3.00%, financial/other 2.00%-3.00%; 110% cash margin 0.10%; + SWIFT Rs 1,000; amendment Rs 1,000 + commission |
| Other outward remittance | Rs 1,000 per remittance + SWIFT (SHA Rs 500; OUR Rs 2,000-3,600 by currency) |
| Forward contracts | Booking Rs 500; early delivery/cancellation Rs 500 + swap cost |
| Commission in lieu of exchange | 0.125%, min Rs 500, max Rs 10,000 |
| Certificates, NOC and AD code letter | NOC Rs 1,000; other certificate/attestation, IEC letter, AD code letter Rs 250; EDF (GR) waiver Rs 1,000 per bill |
How does South Indian Bank compare with the other banks?
Ordering is arithmetic on published figures across the 36 banks whose schedules could be re-checked against their source file, using the entry-tier charge a small-ticket exporter actually meets. It is not a view on which bank to use.
| Charge | South Indian Bank | Where that sits |
|---|---|---|
| Export bill regularisation, per shipping bill | ₹1,500 | 26th cheapest of 29 banks that publish it |
| e-BRC or BRC | Free | 8th cheapest of 23 banks that publish it |
| FIRC or FIRA issuance | ₹500 | 28th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it |
| Inward remittance, per credit | ₹150 | 11th cheapest of 30 banks that publish it |
| Export bills on collection, entry tier | ₹1,000 | 21st cheapest of 35 banks that publish it |
| SWIFT, per message | ₹500 | 18th cheapest of 36 banks that publish it |
South Indian Bank does not sit in the cheapest five on any of the six heads measured here. It sits in the dearest five on export bill regularisation, per shipping bill (26th of 29), firc or fira issuance (28th of 30). An exporter filing 20 shipping bills a month, pulling an e-BRC for each and taking 20 payment credits, would pay ₹3,96,000 a year on these published heads alone. A merchant exporter lodging 10 collection bills a month with 10 certificates and 10 credits would pay ₹1,38,000. See all 38 banks side by side.
What else does South Indian Bank's schedule say?
Forex schedule is section 23 of the general Compendium (no separate trade PDF). The PDF contains TWO forex schedules: the earlier one on pp 14-18 and the revised one 'w.e.f 01-09-2026' on pp 19-24; values above are from the revised (current) schedule. Main changes vs old: inward remittance was NIL (now Rs 150), outward/import commission Rs 500 (now Rs 1,000), LC advising Rs 1,000/2,000 (now Rs 1,500/2,500), 110% margin LC/BG 0.50% (now 0.10%). All charges plus GST; out-of-pocket and foreign correspondent charges extra; apply only where no customer-level pricing. Deviation charges Rs 2,500; reimbursement claim Rs 750 per MT742; merchanting trade Rs 7,500 per bill/remittance; return of inward TT USD 25 (<=USD 1,000) / USD 40; transfer of other-bank BoE Rs 100 per BoE; IMB tracking Rs 5,000. Landing page: https://www.southindianbank.bank.in/content/service-charges (also SIB Feebook portal).
Where does this rate card come from?
| Provenance | Detail |
|---|---|
| Schedule date, as the bank prints it | Compendium 'As on 28.07.2026'; revised forex schedule w.e.f. 01-09-2026 (pp 19-24) |
| Bank type | Private |
| Checked | 19 September 2026 |
| Source document | Open South Indian Bank's published schedule |
The source document was re-downloaded from South Indian Bank on 19 September 2026 and compared by SHA-256 against the copy these figures were read from. It matched exactly, which means the figures here are what the bank was publishing that day rather than a stale cache.
What should I read next?
- Every Indian bank's export charges, compared All 38 rate cards in one table.
- Which bank is best for e-commerce exporters? The same schedules read head by head for marketplace sellers.
- Which bank is best for B2B exporters? LC advising, collection, crystallisation and guarantees.
- FIRC and BRC guide for Indian exporters What each certificate is and when you need one.
Tired of chasing South Indian Bank to close your shipping bills?
Bank charges are the visible cost of export banking. The hidden one is the hours spent matching settlements to shipping bills and chasing the bank to close them in EDPMS. Seasaw does that matching for you.
See how Seasaw works
Update history
- First published.